NEWS

#UkraineMore – Ukraine can give investors more!

Chief Executive Officer of UMG Investments Andriy Gorokhov has participated in the panel discussion “Ukraine and EU: The Growth Through Economic Partnership”, #UkraineHouseDavos 2020

28.01.2020

Chief Executive Officer of UMG Investments Andriy Gorokhov has participated in the panel discussion “Ukraine and EU: The Growth Through Economic Partnership”, #UkraineHouseDavos 2020

Investment attraction and expansion of mutual trade relations between Ukraine and the European Union are of the top-priority issues.
For this very reason, the panel discussion “Ukraine and EU: The Growth Through Economic Partnership” took place on January 21, 2020 in #UkraineHouseDavos within the World Economic Forum hosted in Davos.

Both Ukrainian and international speakers find the Ukrainian market underestimated by investors. The reforms put in place during the last five years, as well as the implementation of the deep and comprehensive EU Free Trade Agreement (FTA+) create new opportunities for investors and the country itself.

“The EU market – there are approximately 500 million consumers – represents great opportunities for Ukraine”, – Head of the Office of the National Investment Council of Ukraine Olga Magaletska believes. “The EU currently has the largest export market for Ukraine; in 2019, its share in the country’s export was 42%”.

According to Founding Partner and Chief Executive Officer of Horizon Capital Lenna Koszarny, “The Deep and Comprehensive Ukraine-European Free Trade Area Agreement is a real breakthrough agreement catalysing seismic implications in Ukraine’s economy. Since the signing, the country rapidly re-oriented to the EU market. However, this is just a beginning – currently Ukraine’s export per capita is 6.4 times lower than in Central and Eastern Europe. It means that we have much room for further growth”.

At the same time, as Director General, Head of Operations of European Investment Bank (EIB) Jean-Christophe Laloux says: “EIB still believes in Ukraine; the bank has already invested UAH 6 bln and plans to increase the amount by additional UAH 500 mln in 2020”. He also noted the risk of slowing down or termination of reforms. The unwillingness to put painful, but not less necessary reforms may adversely affect investors’ enthusiasm.

Chief Executive Office of SHERP Yaroslav Prygara also finds it important for Ukraine to keep target-driven reforms on track: “As a citizen of Ukraine, I feel happy that the hryvnia improves its positions and the economy grows. However, as an exporter, I have many questions regarding the conditions the country create for me. Ukraine needs a strategy how to balance these interests so that improve the peoples’ welfare and create all the necessary conditions for investors at once”.

Chief Executive Officer of UMG Investments Andriy Gorokhov considers Ukraine to be an attractive place both for internal and foreign capital investors: “The capital which investors put in Ukraine’s projects serves the best prove for this. Money invested speak volumes and such investors as Cargill, TIS, SALIC, Bayer, DTEK Renewables, Bakcell, Snap Inc, Blackstone Group and Stada, which have already put their money in Ukraine, as well as EuroCape New Energy, Total Eren & NBT, Kronospan, Epicentr K, HEAD, projects of which are in progress, prove the investment attractiveness of this country. Therefore, nobody says about the need to suspend the reform “homework”. There is enough free capital, but the rivalry for it is intensive. Only those countries receive it, which are in better condition to receive the foreign capital and create conditions for local investors. Since 2015, such countries as Kenya, Armenia, Serbia, Nigeria and Botswana carried out a range of reforms that boasted higher efficiency in terms of the private capital attraction than ours, thus ousting us from 78 to 83 position in Venture Capital & Private Equity Country Attractiveness Index. Their reforms mostly bear resemblance of Poland’s experience. Another factor of successful foreign investments attraction is availability and cost of debt. With this regard, Ukraine is on the right way. It is highly probable that value of commercial loans granted by Ukrainian banks will reach 10-12% in the hryvnia before the end of 2020. Investors in need of a debt capital enabling to implement the project itself through the liquidity and improve its investment attractiveness might find it interesting.

On the other hand, when Ukraine completes the necessary reforms, they will allow to equally compete on the international capital markets. Owning to the international funding, our economy can transit from the gradual growth to a comprehensive economic breakthrough. UMG Investments is sure of its investment formula – “capital + people + strategy + vision”. We believe that Ukraine is capable of creating conditions that will inspire additional investments and, accordingly, the country’s economic growth. That will bring benefits for both the existing and new market players”.

Новости

#UkraineMore – Украина может больше дать инвесторам!

Андрей Горохов, Генеральный директор UMG Investments, принял участие в панельной дискуссии «Украина и ЕС: рост через экономическое партнерство», #UkraineHouseDavos 2020

28.01.2020

Андрей Горохов, Генеральный директор UMG Investments, принял участие в панельной дискуссии «Украина и ЕС: рост через экономическое партнерство», #UkraineHouseDavos 2020

Привлечение инвестиционных и расширение торговых взаимоотношений Украины и ЕС являются чрезвычайно актуальными вопросами.

Именно поэтому 21 января 2020 в #UkraineHouseDavos в рамках Всемирного экономического форума в Давосе состоялась панельная дискуссия «Украина и ЕС: Сила через экономическое партнерство».

Как украинские, так и международные спикеры считают, что рынок Украины очень недооценен среди инвесторов. Реформы, воплощенные за последние пять лет, а также имплементация углубленного и всеобъемлющего соглашения о свободной торговле с ЕС (ЗСТ+) создают новые возможности как для инвесторов, так и для страны.

«Рынок ЕС – а это примерно 500 000 000 потребителей – это огромные рыночные возможности для Украины», – считает Ольга Магалецкая, руководительница Управления Национального инвестиционного совета Украины. «На сегодня ЕС – крупнейший экспортный рынок для Украины; в 2019 году его доля в структуре экспорта страны составила 42%».

Как отметила Елена Кошарна, партнер-основатель и генеральный директор HorizonCapital, «Соглашение об углубленной и всеобъемлющей зоне свободной торговли между Украиной и ЕС – это по-настоящему прорывное соглашение, катализировавшее тектонический сдвиг в экономике Украины. С момента подписания страна очень быстро переориентировалась на рынок ЕС. Но это только начало – сегодня экспорт Украины на душу населения в 6.4 раза ниже среднего показателя в Центральной и Восточной Европе. А это значит, что у нас есть большой простор для дальнейшего роста».

При этом, как подчеркнул Жан-Кристоф Лалу, генеральный директор Европейского Инвестиционного Банка (EIB): «EIB продолжает верить в Украину; банк уже инвестировал 6 млрд. грн. и планирует увеличить этот показатель еще на 500 млн. в 2020 году». Он также отметил, что остается риск замедления или остановки реформ. Нежелание провести болезненные, но необходимые реформы может негативно повлиять на энтузиазм инвесторов.

Ярослав Пригара, генеральный директор SHERP, тоже считает, что Украине нужно продолжить целенаправленные реформы: «Как гражданин Украины, я очень рад, что укрепляется гривна и растет экономика. Однако, как у экспортера, у меня возникает много вопросов об условиях, которые для меня создает страна. Украине нужна стратегия, как сбалансировать эти интересы, чтобы одновременно и улучшать благосостояние населения, и создавать все необходимые условия для инвесторов».

Андрей Горохов, Генеральный директор UMG Investments, считает, что Украина – привлекательный объект для инвестиций как для внутренних инвесторов, так и для иностранного капитала: «Лучшее доказательство этому – капитал, который вкладывают инвесторы в проекты, реализуемые в Украине. Вложенные деньги говорят сами за себя, и такие инвесторы, как Cargill, TIS, SALIC, Bayer, DTEK Renewables, Bakcell, SnapInc, BlackstoneGroup и Stada, которые уже вложили свои деньги в Украину, а также EuroCapeNewEnergy, TotalEren & NBT, Kronospan, Epicentr K, HEAD, которые еще в процессе реализации проектов, подтверждающих инвестиционную привлекательность нашей страны. При этом «домашнюю работу» по продлению реформирования страны никто не отменял. Свободного капитала достаточно, но и конкуренция за него значительна. Его получают только те страны, которые находятся в лучшей форме для приема иностранного капитала и которые создают условия для локальных инвесторов. С 2015 года такие страны как Кения, Армения, Сербия, Нигерия и Ботсвана провели серию реформ, которые с точки зрения привлечения частного капитала оказались более эффективными, чем наши, и тем самым подвинули нас в рейтинге Venture Capital & Private Equity Country Attractiveness Index с 78 на 83 место. Их реформы в большей степени напоминали успешный польский опыт. Также важным фактором успешности привлечения зарубежных инвестиций является доступность и стоимость долга. По этому вопросу Украина находится на правильном пути. Есть высокая вероятность, что к концу 2020 года стоимость коммерческих кредитов от украинских банков достигнет 10-12% в гривне. Это уже сможет заинтересовать инвесторов, нуждающихся в заемном капитале, который позволит реализовать сам проект, предоставляя ликвидность, и улучшить показатели его инвестиционной привлекательности.

С другой стороны, когда Украина успешно завершит необходимые реформы, это позволит ей на равных конкурировать на международных рынках капитала. С помощью международного финансирования наша экономика сможет перейти от постепенного роста до полноценного экономического прорыва. Компания UMG Investments уверена в своей формуле инвестиций – «капитал + люди + стратегия + видения». Мы верим, что Украина способна создать условия, которые смогут стимулировать дополнительные инвестиции и, соответственно, экономический рост страны. А это будет выгодным и для существующих, и для новых участников рынка».