MEDIA ABOUT US

Nadiia Kaznacheieva: «The main factor in the recovery of investment activity in 2021 is pent-up demand»

Chief Investment Officer of UMG Investments shared with Forbes Ukraine Investment Guide market trends of 2021.

20.01.2022

Read Nadezhda Kaznacheyeva’s full commentary below:

 “UMG Investments is an investment company founded by SCM, a big investor in Ukraine. We have been investing and plan to invest further, find projects and make a profit. A financially healthy investor invests, including during a crisis. COVID-19 slowed down the economic growth, but for us, this was a sign to accelerate. For example, during the first lockdown in April 2020, we closed a deal to acquire a stake in the Ukrainian company Feednova. We could have claimed force majeure, but we didn’t.

As a local investor, we understand the situation in Ukraine. We try to structure transactions under British law with the possibility of international arbitration. There are limiting factors for more active investment, including government regulation, the impossibility of attracting cheap long-term financing, and difficulties in finding the right partners who are ready to work transparently and create value in the long term.

Our minimum yield threshold is 25%. On average, all our businesses reach this threshold. For green projects, we can also focus on 18-20% returns. The main factor in the recovery of investment activity in 2021 is pent-up demand. 2020 scared a lot of people. Investors lay low in anticipation, but as soon as mass vaccination began, business activity resumed. People were able to meet face-to-face, take flights, etc. This greatly boosted the business environment. In addition, the availability of liquidity in the world as a whole and in Ukraine in particular. Money staying in the bank mostly has a negative return, as it does not cover inflation. Therefore, all investors are looking for an opportunity to make a profit.

As a general trend, we’re currently observing the outflow of foreign investment from Ukraine. However, there are some new projects and new ‘faces’, such as Neqsol Corporation, which operates in several industries and is actively investing in Ukraine, or, for example, Kaspi. We expect a greater influx of investments from the Middle East as well as East and Southeast Asia. Investors in Europe and the US are looking for less risky assets and geographies. The largest financial investors in Ukraine, the EBRD and IFC, continue to invest through loans and equity investments. New teams appear on the market, attracting this and other funding.

In our projects, we try to focus more on opportunities than on risks, which we consider and work on mitigating them from the get-go. If we enter a partnership, we try to structure transactions according to the British law to minimise the risks of conflict situations, since we cannot yet fully trust the Ukrainian courts in corporate disputes.

The most significant factor that influences our willingness to move faster and invest more actively is the small number of good projects that are economically independent of the state and would meet our strategy and our investment criteria.

I would like to see the law on industrial parks realised. The draft law on benefits for industrial park enterprises was adopted in the first reading. If it works, Ukraine will become more competitive in this respect compared to India, Turkey, Poland. The demand is huge, since the relationship between China and the United States is forcing investors to move production from China and look for places closer to Europe. And there is no location closer than Ukraine.

We look forward to the development in our traditional industries: we expect to close several deals in clay mining next year; we are planning to scale up the ‘green’ pilot project on capturing coal mine methane and processing it into electricity. Perhaps we will expand the fertiliser and agriculture directions. We are also considering industries that are new to us, such as healthcare and pharmaceuticals.

We focus on export-oriented projects with revenues from abroad. But the cost of production is tied to the Ukrainian hryvnia, and inflation directly affects it. Some businesses can immediately shift the cost to the end consumer, while some do it gradually. We control the cost of production, looking for options to optimise it.

We look out for assets abroad, enter international markets, not for diversification but in order to implement the strategy of a particular business area. Our priority is investing in Ukraine. The target investment is $2 to $30 million. This year, we invested about $32 million, including investments in existing businesses.”

СМИ о нас

  • Главная
  • Пресс-центр
  • Надежда Казначеева: «Основной фактор оживления инвестиционной активности в 2021 году – это отложенный спрос»

Надежда Казначеева: «Основной фактор оживления инвестиционной активности в 2021 году – это отложенный спрос»

Инвестиционный директор UMG Investments поделилась с Инвестиционным гидом Forbes Ukraine рыночными трендами 2021 года.

20.01.2022

Полный комментарий Надежды Казначеевой читайте ниже: 

«UMG Investments – это инвестиционная компания  СКМ, большого инвестора в Украину. Мы инвестировали и планируем дальше инвестировать. Находить проекты и зарабатывать. Инвестор, который находится в здоровом финансовом состоянии, инвестирует в том числе и в период кризиса. С приходом COVID19, в экономике замедлился рост, а для нас это стало сигналом ускориться. К примеру, мы в первый локдаун в апреле 2020 закрыли сделку по приобретению доли в украинской компании Feednova, хотя могли воспользоваться форс-мажорными обстоятельствами. Но мы этого не сделали.

Нам, как локальному инвестору, ситуация в Украине понятна. Мы стараемся структурировать сделки по английскому праву с возможностью международного арбитража. Ограничительные факторы для более активного инвестирования есть: это в том числе и госрегулирование, невозможность привлечения дешевого долгого финансирования, сложности в поиске правильных партнеров, готовых работать «в белую» и создавать ценность в долгосрочной перспективе.

Наш минимальный порог доходности – 25%. В среднем все наши бизнесы этот порог достигают. По зеленым проектам мы можем ориентироваться и на 18-20% доходности Основной фактор оживления инвест.активности в 2021 году  – это отложенный спрос. Год 2020-ый многих напугал. Инвесторы затаились в ожидании, но как только началась массовая вакцинация, возобновилась бизнес  активность. У людей появилась возможность встречаться очно, делать перелеты, и тд. Это сильно стимулировало деловую активность. Плюс наличие ликвидности в мире в целом и в Украине в том числе. Деньги, лежащие в банке, имеют в большей степени отрицательную доходность – не перекрывают инфляцию. Поэтому все инвесторы ищут возможность заработать.

В целом пока мы видим отток иностранных инвестиций из Украины. Но есть новые проекты и новые «лица»: корпорация Neqsol, которая работает в нескольких отраслях, активно инвестирует в  Украину , или, например, Kaspi. Мы ожидаем большего притока инвестиций из Азии стран Ближнего и Дальнего Востока. Инвесторы Европы и США ищут менее рискованные активы и географии. Самые большие финансовые инвесторы в Украину – ЕБРР и IFC, продолжают инвестировать через кредиты и вхождения в капитал. На рынке появляются новые команды, которые эти и другие деньги привлекают.

В своих проектах мы стараемся больше фокусироваться на возможностях, чем на рисках, которые мы учитываем и прорабатываем митигацию на берегу. Если входим в партнерство, стараемся структурировать сделки по английскому праву, чтобы минимизировать риски по конфликтным ситуациям. Так как украинским судам пока не можем в полной мере доверять в корпоративных спорах.

Самый существенный фактор, который влияет на нашу готовность двигаться быстрее и активнее инвестировать – это небольшое количество хороших, экономически независимых от государства проектов, которые бы соответствовали нашей стратегии и нашим инвест.критериям.

Хотелось бы, чтобы закон про индустриальные парки нашел свое продолжение. Законопроект о льготах для предприятий индустриальных парков принят в первом чтении. Если он заработает, Украина станет более конкурентной в этом отношении по сравнению с Индией, Турцией, Польшей. Запрос огромный – отношения между Китаем и США вынуждают инвесторов переносить производство из Китая и искать размещение поближе к Европе. А ближе, чем Украина, локации нет. 

Мы смотрим как на развитие в традиционных для нас отраслях: рассчитываем в следующем году провести несколько сделок по глинодобыче; планируем масштабировать «зеленый» пилотный проект по улавливанию шахтного метана и переработку его в электроэнергию. Возможно, будем усиливать бизнес удобрений, агро направление. Также смотрим и на новые для нас отрасли, например, медицину и фармацевтику.

Мы фокусируемся на экспортоориентированных проектах с валютной выручкой. Но себестоимость продукции привязана к украинской гривне, и инфляция прямо на ней отражается. Какие-то бизнесы могут сразу переложить ее на конечного потребителя, какие-то постепенно. Мы контролируем себестоимость, ищем варианты ее оптимизироваьб.

Смотрим активы за рубежом, выходим на международные рынки. Но не для диверсификации, а для реализации стратегии конкретного бизнес-направления. Наш приоритет – инвестиции в Украину. Целевой объем инвестиций – от $2 до 30 млн. В этом году инвестировали около 32 млн долл, с учетом инвестиций в существующие бизнесы.»